DJI_0775.JPG

BIENVENUE AU PROJET ARCHÉOLOGIQUE UCANAL

À PROPOS

DU PROJET ARCHÉOLOGIQUE UCANAL

Ucanal_EmblemGlyph_drawing_St4_cth_cente

Le projet archéologique Ucanal (Proyecto Arqueológico Ucanal ou PAU) est un projet de recherche archéologique multidisciplinaire qui étudie l'ancienne ville maya d'Ucanal, ainsi que les dynamiques sociopolitiques changeantes de la société maya. Le PAU est une collaboration internationale de professeurs et étudiants affiliés (entre autres) à l'Université de Montréal, l'Université de San Carlos au Guatemala, le San Diego Mesa College, le Musée de l'Université de Pennsylvanie, l'Université de Floride occidentale, l'Université du Mississippi et l'Université du Kentucky du Nord. Il s'appuie aussi sur la collaboration et le personnel des villages de Pichelito II, Barrio Nuevo San José, San José et La Blanca du Petén, au Guatemala.

 

Ucanal était une ville florissante pendant la période du Classique Terminal (vers 830-1000 de notre ère), une période tumultueuse de l'histoire maya au cours de laquelle de nombreux sites ont subi l'effondrement de la règle dynastique, des défis environnementaux et, dans certains cas, un abandon. Le PAU cherche à comprendre comment les habitants de la ville ont vécu pendant cette période de l'histoire maya, et examine comment ils ont reconfiguré leurs systèmes politiques, économiques et sociaux. Il documente aussi la persistance des traditions à travers ces changements.

 

Les recherches archéologiques du PAU sont menées avec l'autorisation du Ministerio de Cultura y Deportes de Guatemala, à travers la Dirección General del Patrimonio Cultural y Natural (DIGEPACUNAT). La recherche du PAU a été financée par des subventions du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH), la Fondation Canadienne pour l'Innovation - les Fonds des leaders John R. Evans, les Fonds de Recherche du Québec - Société et Culture (FRQSC), l'American Philosophical Society, la Rust Family Foundation, la National Geographic Society Waitt Foundation, la Princeton University Art and Archaeology Expedition Funds et l'Université de Montréal.

 

LE SITE D'UCANAL

Ucanal_EmblemGlyph_blue.jpg

K'anwitznal ou "Yellow Hill Place"

 
 
UCN04mine.jpg
UCML-049_UCA14A-3-4-1105_composite.tif
PlazaA_labels+scale.jpg
DJI_0775_edited_edited.jpg

DJI_0775.JPG

WELCOME TO THE UCANAL ARCHAEOLOGICAL PROJECT

ABOUT 

THE UCANAL ARCHAEOLOGICAL PROJECT

Ucanal_EmblemGlyph_drawing_St4_cth_cente

The Ucanal Archaeological Project (Proyecto Arqueológico Ucanal or PAU) is a multi-disciplinary archaeological research project that investigates the ancient Maya city of Ucanal and the changing socio-political dynamics of Maya society.  The PAU is an international collaboration of professors and students affiliated with the Université de Montréal, Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala, San Diego Mesa College, University of Pennsylvania Museum, University of West Florida, University of Mississippi, and University of Northern Kentucky, among other universities, and relies on the collaboration and personnel from the villages of Pichelito II, Barrio Nuevo San José, San José, and La Blanca from Petén, Guatemala.

 

The site of Ucanal was a thriving city during the Terminal Classic period (ca. AD 830-1000), a tumultuous period in Maya history in which many other sites were experiencing the collapse of dynastic rule, environmental challenges, and in some cases, site abandonment. The PAU seeks to understand how inhabitants of the city lived during this period of Maya history, to examine how they reconfigured their political, economic, and social systems, and also to document the persistence of their traditions through these changes.

 

The PAU's archaeological research is conducted with the permission of Ministerio  de Cultura y Deportes de Guatemala, through the Dirección General del Patrimonio Cultural y Natural (DIGEPACUNAT). Research by the PAU has been funded by grants from the Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC/CRSH), the Canadian Foundation for Innovation John R. Evans Leaders Fund, Fonds de Recherche du Québec—Société et Culture (FRQSC), American Philosophical Society, Rust Family Foundation, the National Geographic Society Waitt Foundation, Princeton University Art and Archaeology Expedition Funds, and the Université de Montréal.

 

THE SITE OF UCANAL

K'anwitznal or "Yellow Hill Place"

 
 
UCN04mine.jpg
UCML-049_UCA14A-3-4-1105_composite.tif
PlazaA_labels+scale.jpg
DJI_0775_edited_edited.jpg